Praeludium and Fantasia (from the Fitzwilliam Virginal Book)
  arranged for SAATB recorders                                                             
  Those of you who know and love Byrd’s original consort music (for instance the five-part setting of
  ‘Browning’) will relish the gravely expressive counterpoint and boisterous syncopated rhythms to 
  be found in this Fantasia. The coda is a freely elaborated cadence, recalling the Praeludium and
  bringing the whole piece to a very satisfying conclusion. Some of Byrd’s keyboard music was
  arranged by himself from his own consort music and much of it has subsequently been arranged by
  others but, as far as I know, this masterpiece exists in no arrangement other than the present one.
                                                                                                                  GP01  Score and parts £ 12.50
  Click here to see and hear excerpts from the music.
  arranged for double wind quintet (2fl, 2ob, 2cl in B flat, 2hn, 2bn)                                               
                                                           published by and available at £18.50 from WOODWINDplus
                                                                                                                                      42 St. Mary’s Park
                                                                                                                                      LN11 0EF
                                                                                                                                      Tel. 01507 605244

                                                                                    also available from June Emerson Wind Music

Works by William Byrd